walking woodbury

Beautiful day for a walk .  So I went along Flanders Road and bore right along  the main road through town . The town is Woodbury , Connecticut , about 3000 miles , I guess ,  from my home in Arcadia .  I brought along , I admit totally by accident,  the warm weather from California .  They have had a bitter winter here , I hear , up until I arrived .  But , since I’ve been in Woodbury  , the weather has been warm , hot in the middle of the day . We’ve been working , painting and dry walling ,  cleaning out the garage , and running around the countryside shopping for an  upcoming wedding .Connecticut 2013 (2) 005 Connecticut 2013 (2) 003

But , today I walk . My two hosts, the bride-to-be and the groom-to-be ,  were busy with their own projects .  I would be on my own .Connecticut 2013 (2) 063

New England .   Clues all over the place blowing its cover  , from the bright yellow blooms of forsythia to the old colonial houses ,  to the birch , elm , and whatever-other-trees  forests everywhere surrounding  , to the stone walls ,to the town hollow . There was an Earth Day celebration at the hollow yesterday .

I also , speaking of hollows , passed near Sleepy Hollow in New York yesterday on the way to a Yankee game . Didn’t detour over there , though .  The Van Tassels have probably moved out by now , anyhow .  I wouldn’t mind having a little talk with Icabod Crane , teacher to teacher , maybe counsel him a little .  But , of course , he’s long gone . I imagine there might be a Sleepy Hollow Motel there and , maybe ,  a  Headless Horseman Restaurant , and maybe even a Katrina Van Tassel hair and nail salon .  Maybe . But I don’t know ’cause I didn’t go there .Connecticut 2013 (2) 055 Connecticut 2013 (2) 028Connecticut 2013 (2) 023 Connecticut 2013 (2) 024 Connecticut 2013 (2) 036 Connecticut 2013 (2) 034 Connecticut 2013 (2) 049

The town of Woodbury is , conveniently , stretched out along the main drag . It’s not spread out , here and over  there , but is all clustered together , the center that is , along a few -mile strip . Most of it is sidewalked with an asphalt walkway . It’s picturesque . Many of the old residences have become antiques shops or lawyers’ offices . Lots of vehicle traffic through town . No doubt lots of tourists in the summer wander through here hunting antiques and photos of traditional New England .  In Woodbury , fortunately , there aren’t any kitchy tourist traps named , for example , such things as   ” Ye Olde Card Shoppe ”  or  ” The Witches’ Brew Coffee Shoppe ” .Connecticut 2013 (2) 011 Connecticut 2013 (2) 012 Connecticut 2013 (2) 030

Connecticut 2013 (2) 008

Tomorrow will be a liqour run for the upcoming wedding . We’re driving up to Massachusetts  to buy it because the prices are significantly lower up there , I’m told .  Or down there . Or over there .

I’m a little lost .Connecticut 2013 (2) 040 Connecticut 2013 (2) 042Connecticut 2013 (2) 051

Leave a comment

Filed under uncategorized

Leave a Reply

