The first fuckwit

Sometimes I like to do a little change of pace and include an off-beat post ( I know , I know . Some of you think all of my posts are off-beat ; so , be that as it may , bear with me .) This may be a good one for those of you tourists dreaming of going to Australia .

Strong Language

The recent launch of the second edition of the Australian National Dictionary (AND) gave me a chance to indulge in my long-time hobby of looking up the swear words. I’m looking forward to sharing some of my favourite home-grown colourful language in a future post, but I want to start with an entry that gives me the kind of pride that others expended on the Olympic Games last month.

The entry for fuckwit (p. 647) includes the note:

Used elsewhere but recorded earliest in Australia

That’s right. Australia is the home of the fuckwit. The earliest citation in the AND and the Oxford English Dictionary is from Alex Buzo’s 1970 play The Front Room Boys. The earliest non-Australian citation in the OED is from a 1992 article in Making Music magazine from America.

The second edition of the AND expands the citations for fuckwit, makes a clearer distinction between…

View original post 364 more words

2 Comments

Filed under humor

2 responses to “The first fuckwit

  1. My father always wished he could go back and see it again. I sure wouldn’t pass up the chance to go.

Leave a Reply

