wake me up when it’s over

Ada and I went to see a play this evening at a local little theater . The name of the play was Arcadia . We live in Arcadia . Coincidence ? I don’t believe in coincidence .

Of course,  just ’cause I don’t believe in it doesn’t mean it doesn’t happen . Same idea as that old Irish woman who said that she didn’t believe in leprechans . Then she added , ” But they’re out there just the same . ”  So , maybe the Arcadia thing was just a coincidence .

We tried to make sense of the drama , but we haven’t come up with much of an explanation for what went on for seven acts tonight . Could that have been the point ? Ada usually sees four or five different levels of meaning to plays and movies and she explains one or two of the easily understood ones to me on the way home so’s I don’t feel too bad about being a little artistically dense .

This time , however , she had a tough time with the explanation. We saw a friend of ours on the way out of the theater and he was in the same  boat . He said he’d need to see the play again in order to understand it  . He said he should’ve taken a nap before the play so he would have had more mental energy . He talked with a air of seriousity , but the permeating bouquet of mendacity of his  statements  overpowered even  him , I suspect , and he had to back off and clam up . ”  Or , maybe I’ll read the play ,” he added ;  but by now his`credence factor had irreparably drifted well into the red . beer-drinker-on-the-moon

I don’t have an internal need to know everthing . I decided that long ago . I’d never make it in politics . There’d be long pauses after I’d be asked a question . Most likely I just plain would have no answer for most questions , and that’s not the politician’s manner . A courtroom lawyer wouldn’t be my bag , either . It takes me long stretches of time to think thoughts . Sometimes months and even years pass before those shards of thought rattling around in my head come together . Answers to questions sometimes come to me in the middle of the night to questions asked eons ago in long passed situations , maybe by people I haven’t seen in years .

That was kinda the way the interview for my first teaching job went, for example . ” If a student in your class suddenly did this , or out of the blue did that , what would you do ? ” Don’t have a clue .  How am I supposed to know ?  ” If  the lesson that you had meticulously planned suddenly ……………. ? Same thing . I didn’t know . How was I supposed to know ?   I don’t remember having even one viable answer for that barrage of questions during that interview . I left the Principal’s office that day thinking 1) that I had failed the interview , of course , but 2) that it had been good experience for future interviews .

I got the job , though . I had been volunteer-tutoring at the school for a few months and he had seen me work . Sometimes there are more layers of reality than are immediately and easily perceptible .  .

Long into  the interview for my second school job , the Principal interjected the statement : ” I’m sure I’ll get a good recommendation from your former Principal ” , so I had to spend the next ten minutes , after telling her no she wouldn’t , why that was the case . She hesitated  then , and mulled that unexpected information over in her mind . ” I like your honesty ,” she said eventually , and hired me . Go figure .

All of this that I’ve written above is a preamble to an intended short diatribe about the current state of this country of ours , about the political polarization , about my observation that the woods are crawling with fanatic  passionate ignorant  know-it-alls ( the bulk of their information , I suspect , most likely having been found on the internet , after  viewing memes  , misleading headlines,   hate speech posts , and half- truths ( at best ) slung through the air   ( not unlike how they say  apes toss shit , only much more technically sophisticated )  .

I’m not going to write my diatribe , however , because that wouldn’t add anything positive to the universe .( I could recommend or suggest  that on Goggle you might find some fecal matter to get hit with if that’s really what you think you want . It’s not hard to find .  )

I wanted to make the point , somehow , that there are way too many experts around these days it seems to me  , who are absolutely %100 (or more)  right  and who won’t tolerate any even slight difference of opinion . Are compromise , compassion , and mutual understanding completely out nowadays ?    The absolute truth is the one and only truth , after all , and all other notions are to be mercilessly ridiculed ,despised , and destroyed  (if only by the use of hate talk and verbal venom ). Maybe you’ve noticed this trend too .

My dad used to say to us kids : Sticks and stones will break my bones , but words will never hurt me .  I reflect on this old saw now and again . It’s a severely flawed little saying , but there seems to be a point to it too that’s worth considering .

14785179605_adda5b720b_h

So I say sit on the edge of  the moon and enjoy a beer , or an iced coffee , or nothing at all  , take a deep breath , and relax . Things are not all that bad !   And , if they really are all that bad for you , then it could be worse . And if they’re already  worse in your case , then don’t make your life  more worser  by letting the negativity rent any more space in your head . That would be the worstest , and we’ve already got enough of that .

Let it be .  Let it be . Let it be. Let it be . —- I think Abraham Lincoln said that . KutaisiTblisi 2016 1173

Amen .IMG_7173

 

4 Comments

Filed under humor

4 responses to “wake me up when it’s over

  1. Open mindedness seems to be out, Dan. I like this post. It’s good. You can trust me, I’m an expert 😉

  2. ‘on the edge
    of the moon
    with a beer
    deep breath –
    relax’ –
    from here,
    Earth
    looks so peace
    full
    so swirling
    blue.

Leave a Reply

