beer and boats (1)

There is a blogger out in the wilds of Connecticut who has a regular feature entitled something like  “ If We Were Having a Beer ” . He mentions Yeungling in just about every one of those posts , it seems . Yeungling is a delicacy in those parts , I suspect , a relatively local brand of beer . These posts are conversations during which a variety of small talk occurs and profound revelations about life are revealed with a light humor if not light beer .

Another blogger friend of mine up in the Pacific Northwest , thus directly opposite the CT guy if one views the world  with a USA-centered bias , occasionally take us on walks around the neighborhoods of Portland. His are photograph -based wanderings  around the town and he shows us common objects that somehow take on more significance simply by being pointed out as worthy of notice .

I , despite all suspicions , fake news reports , unfounded aspersions , and flimsy evidence to the contrary , listen intently to and learn from others . In this post ( part 1 of 2 , presented in this separated manner  in order not to tire a person out ) I use the ideas of these two bloggers .

You’ll see.

I don’t have a name yet for my special feature . I don’t know if it will become a regular event or not . ( I’m going to ask my plumber his opinion ; [  a Guinness man , no less  ] ; and he’ll level with me ). Well , let’s not get ahead of ourselves . We’ll move on .

I spent part of the afternoon a few days ago having a beer at a little place down near the river . Boats were passing . I had my little camera……………………  .

POLAND ships 2017 015

POLAND ships 2017 011

POLAND ships 2017 010

Catching on ?

Why not sit and have a beer . Take a few photos . Let the passing boats do the work .

Best of both blogs .

POLAND ships 2017 058

 

 

 

 

10 Comments

Filed under humor

10 responses to “beer and boats (1)

  1. One day you and Dan HAVE to get together for a beer!! There’s no 2 ways about that !!

  2. Love it! And thanks for the mention. Dylan has a song, something about “sit on the banks of sand and watch the river flow…” I think it’s called “When I Paint My Masterpiece.” Nope, just looked that up, not it, though similar to the theme. Here it is, it’s called Watching the River Flow, and I have to share it, perfect, reminds me of yr writing in both form and content!

    Watching The River Flow
    Written by: Bob Dylan

    What’s the matter with me

    I don’t have much to say

    Daylight sneakin’ through the window

    And I’m still in this all-night café

    Walkin’ to and fro beneath the moon

    Out to where the trucks are rollin’ slow

    To sit down on this bank of sand

    And watch the river flow

    Wish I was back in the city

    Instead of this old bank of sand

    With the sun beating down over the chimney tops

    And the one I love so close at hand

    If I had wings and I could fly

    I know where I would go

    But right now I’ll just sit here so contentedly

    And watch the river flow

    People disagreeing on all just about everything, yeah

    Makes you stop and all wonder why

    Why only yesterday I saw somebody on the street

    Who just couldn’t help but cry

    Oh, this ol’ river keeps on rollin’, though

    No matter what gets in the way and which way the wind does blow

    And as long as it does I’ll just sit here

    And watch the river flow

    People disagreeing everywhere you look

    Makes you wanna stop and read a book

    Why only yesterday I saw somebody on the street

    That was really shook

    But this ol’ river keeps on rollin’, though

    No matter what gets in the way and which way the wind does blow

    And as long as it does I’ll just sit here

    And watch the river flow

    Watch the river flow

    Watchin’ the river flow

    Watchin’ the river flow

    But I’ll sit down on this bank of sand

    And watch the river flow

  3. I agree with GP, we have to have a beer at some point. Maybe we should meet in Portland. I like the idea of watching boats and drinking beer. I’ve been getting most of my photos while walking the dog. That’s work and, with the leash in one hand and the camera in another, I don’t have room for a beer. Thanks!

  4. Reblogged this on No Facilities and commented:
    Beer and Boats – great new series from “The Other Dan”

  5. Sounds good to me! I’ll have a Guinness, too, unless there’s some other dark beer to consider. And I like watching boats as well. 🙂 Cheers!

    janet

Leave a Reply

